George  W.  F.  Kirk

From Boetcker's Picturesque Shelbyville, 1909.

              George W. F. Kirk  first saw the light February i6, 1837, in a house which stood where  Love, Major & Morrison's  law office now stands in the City of Shelbyville.  He is the son of  Samuel and Elizabeth (Fleming) Kirk,  and is of Scotch-Irish origin.  The Kirk family came to Shelby County in 1832, and has remained ever since save a few years' sojourn in Bloomington, Ind.  Mr. Kirk has never received more than a common school education.  He began the active duties of life as a painter, beginning at the age of fourteen.  He then entered a dry goods store as a clerk, which position he held until 1861.  After the war began he entered the Quartermaster's Department under Capt. H. H. Boggess.  Here he served until 1863, when he was transferred to the Commissary Department of the Army of the Cumberland, where he remained until April, 1864.  Then coming home he engaged in the boot and shoe business in Shelbyville.  In 1875, he quit the boot and shoe trade and became a solicitor of insurance, in which business he has since remained.  He is also a director and the Secretary of the Shelbyville Gas-Light Company.  He married  Miss Emma Browning  of this county and city, October 2, 1875.  There are but two of their five children living,  Woodville B., and  Frank S. Mr. Kirk  is an ardent Republican.  He was made a Mason in 1862, and since has advanced considerably in that fraternity, being now a member of Baldwin Commandery No. 2, and is the present Right Eminent Grand Commander of Indiana.  
He is also a member of the Knights of Pythias.  He and his wife are members of the First Presbyterian Church, and are faithful in their attendance.
History of Shelby County, Indiana, Brant & Fuller, 1887, "Shelbyville Sketches,"  page 501.
Contributed by Phyllis Miller Fleming

Biography Index          Main Page